Autism: On Scripts and Routines

autismalifetimeundiagnosed

Here is an area that I think society should learn to be tolerant and understanding of people with Autism. It is our way of coping in a very confusing and unpredictable world. I am talking about routines.

It isn’t that I think people should bend over backwards to ensure that the order of our lives is never disrupted, but to understand that we need proper warning of necessary changes (and it would help if we could have some say in them, if possible) and to recognize that there are times in our lives that asking for change will be too much for us to handle.

Take my previous job, for instance. I worked at the front desk of a medium sized motel in town; perhaps a surprising job for a person with social anxiety disorder, a verbal expressive disorder, and autism; most of the time, however, I could do my…

View original post 853 more words

Leave a Reply

